Club of the dead IBM x3550 M4

flexion

Sep 23, 2020
Switzerland
My primary server recently died after a short power-off. Turns out this is a known problem and the IBM/Lenovo forums is full of people with dead M4's suffering the very same issue. Without firmware upgrade, one of the VT261WF voltage regulator chips can be fried on power on.

If you're an owner of such an M4 x3550 or x3650: Do not turn off your server, perform a firmware upgrade via IMM first!!!!

So my server won't start up, I already located the fried component and also ordered replacement chips.. but, jeeez, this chip is super tiny!!! just 3.5 millimeters!

any ideas how to remove and replace?

fuck-ibm.jpeg

Reactions: goto13

flexion

Sep 23, 2020
Switzerland
thanks to cz7asm for his advice to use a hot air gun and kapton tape to protect the surrounding parts. I've never done that before and I have to find the required tools for this first. Pretty sure this will end in a disaster :D

weblacky

Jan 13, 2020
Seattle, WA
This appears to be a QFN package. Removal won't be too hard, installation will be tougher. You can find some good YouTube content on these packages.

You need to preheat your entire board to something like 200C to start with...perhaps higher to pre-warm it. This isn't hot enough to desolder anything, but you need to warm up ALL the base metals in the PCB or they will act as a heat sink. If you find something to use a stand-offs you "could" to use a normal cooking oven and slide out the oven rack when doing the work. You don't want to thermal shock it, so you'd want to place it in and then heat the oven, not place it in a pre-heated oven. Also, cooking ovens are designed to overshoot the target temp because they expect you to open the door afterward to place food in, which immediately lowers the temps. So assume a 10-15 degree overshoot when doing this!