The SGUG RPM Software Environment

hammy

Jun 1, 2019
UK
Release 0.0.3 alpha of the sgug-rse project on github is now out - and should (modulo bugs) be feature equivalent with the packages and features previously provided by didbs.

sgug-rse is interesting - in that this opens up a common repository and submission place for extra packages and ports - from you!

Pull requests and new ports are most definitely welcomed and encouraged.

It's currently for developers/early adopters - with focus and usage we can discover the sharp corners and get things a little smoother.

I recommend a "fresh" install (remove previous sgug-rse) for sanity.

There is an obvious known issue - if you're having issues with `sort` or other tools, `LC_ALL=C` is a work around. Please do file any bugs you see and we'll try and get this stable enough for everyone.

Get it here!

stormy

Jun 23, 2019
Hi Hammy, I'm new to porting and with the help of Jupo only just got didbs installed and working. Would you suggest I stick playing around and learning with the didbs environment for now and waiting until sgug becomes more mature?

hammy

Jun 1, 2019
UK
Hey Stormy,

For the moment the rpm bits are alpha and are probably only of interest to early adopters / people who don't mind stuff being a bit broken.

I'm working my towards 0.0.4beta - which should be in a much better place with various improvements under the hood to make life nicer.

Stick with didbs for now, get your feet wet using those tools and we see when 0.0.4 arrives.

hammy

Jun 1, 2019
UK
On the road to 0.0.4beta, some stats for funsies from the "rebuild the world #1":

• 128 packages now in the "working set" of sgug
  • 691M of SRPMs generated
  • 506M of RPMs generated (115 NOARCH .rpms, 348 MIPS .rpms)
  • Full rebuild on dual 600 octane2 -> ~26 hours
  • Slowest to build -> boost C++ library at a whopping 4.X hours