Tell me your "Saw my first SGI" Story. I will tell mine.

7spirals

Sep 7, 2022
I graduated high school in 1993. I wasn't aware that SGI even existed until that Summer. I started seeing advertisements for SGI hardware and software off and on in magazines I was reading. However, I was mostly just able to get Computer Shopper and other PeeCee stuff at newstands and libraries. However, when the Indy came out I saw a lot more advertisements.

Then I moved across the state (Texas) to a town in the North of the state. There was a PC service and sales shop there which was probably the biggest in the area. It was run by a crook and his wife. The guys' wife wanted to get into video production and animation in the worst way. The problem was she was dumb as a post didn't know how to build a business. What she did know how to do was spend her husbands money on sportscars and SGI hardware.

I remember dropping by to get some PC parts one day and there was this office with a glass facade and a trio of SGIs. They had an Indy, a vanilla Indigo2, and a second R10k Indigo2 with Max Impact. I only know this now because at the time I was absolutely starstruck. I'd only seen ugly beige PC garbage up to that point. The coolest hardware I'd seen before that was a Quadra 700 or maybe one of the black IBM PC (I think some of the early Aptiva hardware was black and that was very rare/cool at the time). I also remember the MacTV was black and wanted one of those, too. However, I'd already fallen for Unix and I was drooling over those SGIs more than just about anything... ever.

So, there's this lady in there playing with PowerAnimator or something like it and I just kind of drooled and nearly wet myself from outside their fancy room. I left feeling like a PC loser. I mean... that's what I was! However, the story doesn't end there by a long shot.