Interesting early analog HDVS laserdisc dumps

CRaven

Sep 25, 2022
Hey guys, I'm glad I can contribute to the SGI community. I need some info about the best way to rip SGI CDs, I'm not very technical inclined, I'm a 3D artist.

About the manuals I definitely don't have the time to scan or photograph one by one. I can ask for a quote for a professional scanning of each page, I'm open to other suggestions tho.

kikems

Jul 22, 2020
Spain
Hey guys, I'm glad I can contribute to the SGI community. I need some info about the best way to rip SGI CDs, I'm not very technical inclined, I'm a 3D artist.

About the manuals I definitely don't have the time to scan or photograph one by one. I can ask for a quote for a professional scanning of each page, I'm open to other suggestions tho.
You have acces to a Linux computer?

CRaven

Sep 25, 2022
Well bad news, they don't want to scan it because of copyright laws, it's all fun and games until legal stuff kicks in. I forgot completly about these legal issues, so I won't be sharing it, sorry...

kikems

Jul 22, 2020
Spain
Really all of our activity it's a hobby because nobody try to produce or work with this technologies. All our SGI systems and software are defunct technologies, companies and products. All our activity is abandonware of obsolete technologies and no company is harmed or lost sales.
I don't see a problem from a collecting point of view either, a copy will never replace an original for a collector, nor will it devalue its value. Copies help us to explore, learn, share and preserve software that would otherwise have disappeared forever.
If no one had shared copies before, today we lost of a lot of software and their history, and possibly forums like this one would hardly be of interest or computers like the SGI would not make sense to keep them and keep them operational over time.

Last edited:

CRaven

Sep 25, 2022