Enable 24bit in Xserve

Sheridan

Jul 31, 2022
Hi everyone,

I am new to SGI and recently acquired a Fuel with V10 and 2Gb RAM running IRIX 6.5.

Have a question relating to enabling 24bit color on Xserve desktop which is stuck in 8bit mode. I am running at 1920x1200 resolution and the frame buffer depth is set to 8. If I select 16 it does not allow me to go into very high resolutions. I am assuming the 8 refers to the pixel depth for RBG - aka 256 colours per R, G and B - so 16.7m colors?

I followed the instructions here, adapting the line as requested.

Problem is nothing happens - it stays in 8bit mode. The boot up (pre-xserver and log in screen clearly are in 24bit color).

I have no clue how to troubleshoot shoot this? Can anyone help?

Andrew

Irinikus

Dec 16, 2019
South Africa
www.youtube.com
Judging by your wallpaper, you may be running in 24-bit mode! (Also, in you console, it states TrueColor!)

Try and open up a bitmap or jpeg and show me a screenshot or try to run quake, as if it's in 24-bit colour then quake won't run. (In software mode!)

Last edited:

Sheridan

Jul 31, 2022
I did think about that knowing that the desktop icons may well still look 8-bit. See the open app - Maya and you can clearly see the gfx output is dithered. My other though is the monitor itself although it seems rather unlikely. It's a Samsung SyncMaster 120M. Same on SGI flat screen.

Attachments

Sheridan

Jul 31, 2022
The output in the terminal window is from xdpyinfo - just to prove to myself that the machine was capable of 24bit which given that it's High Impact Indigo2 - it is.

I can't work on my fuel because my keyboard input is screwed and I can't get into the machine to enter Delete /etc/ioconfig.conf. I am waiting for the USB to Serial cable to arrive before I can correct that.

Still I can't understand why TWO different machines are exhibiting the same issues. There is definitely dithering. Even the 3D demos are dithered.