Ugly Tezro power

Elf

Storybook / Retired, ex-staff
Feb 4, 2019
Mountain West (US)
Curious, I heard reports of similar voltage regulator issues from an O300 or O350 owner as well. Maybe these are just getting to that age!

With regards to mine, I have replacement parts for that whole block, from the LT switching controller, to the switching MOSFETs, to the capacitors. I suspect more than just a bad capacitor given how one of the MOSFETs seems to be stuck and overheating, so I am hoping that just replacing it all will do the trick.

I ordered the parts some time ago, but with everything going on I have not had the chance to pull the board and put it under the knife (so to speak). It is a big board that I am sure will be annoying to pull, so I am not very keen on it, but it is definitely on the to-do list since I am reluctant to use the machine until the issue is resolved.

weblacky

Jan 13, 2020
Seattle, WA
Well, I’m pretty new at PCB level semiconductor repair. A part of me understands what your saying, another part of me proposes a different reason for your observations. So I’m kind of in limbo.

I know yours is not happening consistently, but these MOSFETs are being directly controlled. My brain tells me you should check the signal at the gate of the stuck mosfet before blaming it. Perhaps your controller is commanding it on nearly all the time to compensate for something. I mean, from what I know, more ON time means higher voltage, under normal circumstances. If your controller was trying to raise voltage by the maximum amount of gate signal increase, it would likely look like this, right?

so because the MOSFET hasn’t shorted, I think it might be working fine and it’s being told to do this?