Putting the Watch back to Game and Watch

Northsky

Reindeer Whisperer
Feb 8, 2019
Hello all,

I figured it would be fun to share what I've been working on lately. As many of you know, I am quite fond of old gaming consoles. When shopping I noticed that here where I live the new Nintendo Game & Watch Super Mario Bros was on sale, so I bought a few units to play with to learn more about embedded software development. So far I have modded 3 of my units with a bigger external flash memory. These come with 1 MB from the factory, but that is upgradeable. In my case, I used a 16 MB ISSI NOR FLASH SOP-8 chip that happened to be available locally. The particular chip is not compatible with the original firmware of these devices, but I do not care as I've bought these for homebrew purposes. These use a fairly powerful STM32H7 MCU as the heart. Back when I used to work as a contract hardware designer, I almost solely used STM32 chips, so the STM world is quite familiar to me. However, I never did any firmware design for STM32 so this is very interesting way to learn about that topic.

Currently I am working on the retro-go G&W port. What I am doing is implementing RTC support that has been missing so far using the RTC functionality found in the STM32 hardware. Last night I managed to get it work with the external crystal (LSE). It seems that there was a bug in STM32cubeMX that forced the RTC to use LSI clock all the time and also without selecting CBS Sync LSE option any LSE drive options were unavailable. I set the drive to 'high' to make sure that it works. Current usage is negligible compared to low drive.

Here is a screenshot of a menu I created to control the RTC. Now it shows only the time, but I am working on developing controls to set the time. The menu is triggered by pressing the 'TIME' button.

image0.jpg