Indigo 2 Xz with no LED light.

workyboy

May 13, 2021
Newbie here. Just picked up what looks like a near new Indigo 2 Xz and the indicator LED on the front panel won't light up. Followed the instructions in the user manual and firmly pressed down the "gold wall" (EISA backplane ) that holds the accessory cards.
2. Remove the top cover from the system and make sure the EISA backplane is firmly seated by pressing down on top of it. The backplane is the gold-colored metal wall that extends from the fan in the front of the system, along the back of the expansion board slots, to the back of the chassis. It’s okay to press quite firmly on the top of the backplane wall.
3. Check to make sure the internal power connectors are attached correctly to the system board. They are tight.
Both fans start up, floppy and hard drive LED's light up, dead monitor, what to do now?
Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Attachments

workyboy

May 13, 2021
Thank you for the leads.
Attach a serial console? What is the serial console? My ignorance is showing.
Re-seat the graphics sandwich? Are you saying remove all the cards and reseat them?
Could it be that the OS is not installed? I do have the OS disk?
Thanks again,

flexion

Sep 23, 2020
Switzerland
If there is no OS installed, you would still get at least something on the screen telling you what's wrong.

By re-seating the gfx "sandwich" I meant remove the graphics card combo and insert again, just as you did with all other connectors.
Serial RS232 console would maybe show some more information about what's going on (or not) when the system powers up but can't display anything on the screen for whatever reason. but could also be that there is no output on the serial console at all, since you say the LED does not light up.

Attach a terminal to the serial port with null-modem cable and 8N1 at 9600 (although not 100% sure about baud rate).

workyboy

May 13, 2021
flexion,