Boot screens reverse engineered for most SGI systems

tyfighter

Jul 12, 2020
I posted this on the irixnet forums as well, so just duplicating here.

I'm not sure why I did this, or if anyone would even be interested. I've been sitting on some of it for a couple of years, but here goes nothing.
SGI systems as you all know boot into a high-resolution graphics mode and display a boot screen image before proceeding into IRIX.
Most of these boot screens just have a logo for the system name, but I got to wondering how many difference screens there were.
Digging into the various PROM images, I was able to figure out how these screens were drawn. They're not really images in the boom PROMs, but rather data for drawing images.

EDIT: I put up the source code here: https://github.com/tyfighter/sgibootscreen

Also, if any of these are inaccurate, definitely let me know. *And* if you know of any others, I'd be happy to take a look into any other boot PROMs.

So, without further ado.

1. MG1 (Grinch) - The MP to GIO Bus conversion board for the Crimson for adding in either Entry or Express Graphics. This bootscreen would be for Express, since it's 1280x1024 (because Entry can only do 1024x768).
    mg1.png
  2. VGX - The second generation high-end graphics option for the Power Series/Crimson systems. Are these colors really correct?
    vgx.png
  3. Reality Engine for Crimson - The IRIX 6.2 installation media flashes the Reality Engine textport PROM with this new image, that actually says *Reality Engine*. This didn't exist when Reality Engine was initially released. It was just the same bright magenta image without the logo.
    reality_engine.png
  4. Reality Engine for Onyx - Found in the IO4 PROM.
    reality_engine_new.png
  5. Indigo
    indigo.png
  6. Indy
    indy.png
  7. Indigo2
    indigo2.png
  8. O2
    o2.png
  9. Octane
    octane.png